Out now:
FlyinFisch Always Dreaming (FlyinFisch) Disco beats, electronic bleeps and a little bit of funk, with guitar from Jose Luis Pardo of Los Amigos Invisibles.
Here We Go Magic A Different Ship (Secretly Canadian) Seeing Radiohead’s Thom Yorke dancing at one of their shows led HWGM to record this one with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich.
John 5 God Told Me To (Rocket Science Ventures) Rob Zombie’s guitarist steps out with a diverse set of instrumentals; you’ll hear speed metal, southern funk and even a cover of Michael Jackson’s “Beat It.”
Fela Kuti & Egypt 80 Live in Detroit 1986 (Knitting Factory) Yes, the late king of Nigerian music loved to jam; there are only four songs on this three-disc set, but they swing for more than two hours.
Lazer Sword Memory (Monkeytown) One member of this electro duo lives in Berlin and the other in L.A.; beathead weirdness ensues.
Soso That Time I Dug So Deep I Ended Up In China (This is Music) This debut set of soulful electro-flavored pop tunes is far better than so-so, even though the Swedish singer recorded the whole thing in her bedroom.
Patrick Watson Adventures in Your Own Backyard (Domino) Music from Montreal these days seems mostly to be slow and dreamy, literate and spacey, and this third effort from Watson is no exception.
West of Hell Spiral Empire (Reversed) Debut from heavy metal Canadians demonstrates their love of Judas Priest and Black Sabbath.

May 15:
PHILM Harmonic (Ipecac) PHILM is a side project of Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo, but songs like “Vitriolize” are more like surf rock than thrash.

May 22:
The Cult Choice of Weapon (Cooking Vinyl) A strong comeback for these hard rock hit-makers; expect “Honey from a Knife” and “The Wolf” to tear up rock radio this summer.
Dope Body Natural History (Drag City) Not quite sludge, Dope Body favors slow-motion rhythms doctored up with elements of psychedelia and experimental sounds.
Grass Widow Internal Logic (HLR) This all-girl trio harkens back vocally to pop hit makers the Bangles and musically to the lovably quirky B-52s.
JBM Stray Ashes (Western Vinyl) JBM is the stage name of Jesse Marchant, and this set of quietly introspective tunes is about the result you’d expect from a one-man-band recording in an isolated cabin in the Catskill Mountains.
Royal Thunder CVI (Relapse) Southern-flavored, metal-edge prog rock featuring whiskey-voiced singer Miny Parsonz.
Various Artists Kitsune America (Kitsune) This French label usually spotlights European artists, but here they draw their talent from the States, with cuts from St. Lucia, Gigamesh, Childish Gambino and 11 others.

June 5:
Catch Wild Waking Up with Fire (Self-released) Catch Wild’s fans funded the making of this debut, and they get paid back with a strong set of powerful female-fronted radio-ready rock.
The Tallest Man on Earth There’s No Leaving Now (Dead Oceans) The Tallest Man on Earth is Sweden-based Kristian Mattsson, and he has a fondness for Americana sounds, with a voice that recalls a young Bob Dylan.
Emily Jane White Ode to Sentience (Antenna Farm) The up-and-coming singer/songwriter has a voice like Hope Sandoval and writes like the late great Townes Van Zandt.
XNY Through the Wall (Self-released) The duo of drummer Jacob Schrieber and singer Pam Autuori makes minimalist rock, but they sound a lot bigger thanks to Autuori’s forceful and anger-tinged vocals.