In a wildly unpredictable year for the Tony Awards, especially in the crucial category of new musicals, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder,” “Beautiful: The Carole King Musical,” “After Midnight,” and “Aladdin,” were deemed the four nominees for best original musical, with “If/Then,” “Rocky” and “Bullets Over Broadway” all knocked out of the category. Best new play nods went to “Casa Valentina” by Harvey Fierstein, “Act One” By James Lapine, “Outside Mullingar” by John Patrick Shanley, “Mothers and Sons” by Terrence McNally and “All The Way” by Robert Schenkkan.

In essence, every serious original musical of the season was snubbed, with the nominations going to two musical revues and two comedy pastiches. It’s hard to recall another year in Broadway history when that was the case.

Tuesday was an excellent morning for “Gentleman’s Guide,” which scored 10 nominations, the most of any production of the 2013-14 season. “Hedwig and the Angry Inch” was not far behind with eight nominations, including one for its star, Neil Patrick Harris.

“After Midnight,” “Beautiful,” “Twelfth Night” and the widely admired revival of “The Glass Menageie” also scored significant numbers of nominations across a variety of categories.

In her hometown of Evanston, Ill., there were cheers for Jessie Mueller, nominated (as anticipated) for her starring work in the role of Carole King in the musical, “Beautiful.” Mueller will compete against Kelli O’Hara (“The Bridges of Madison County”), Sutton Foster (“Violet”), Idina Menzel (“If/Then”) and Mary Bridget Davies (“A Night With Janet Joplin”).

Steppenwolf ensemble member Anna D. Shapiro did not fare as well, with no nomination for her direction of “Of Mice and Men,” although the actor Chris O’Dowd, who played Lennie in that productions, scored a Tony nomination.

Nominations for the 2014 American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards:

—Best play

“Act One” by James Lapine

“All The Way” by Robert Schenkkan

“Casa Valentina” by Harvey Fierstein

“Mothers and Sons” by Terrence McNally

“Outside Mullingar” by John Patrick Shanley

—Best musical

“After Midnight”


“Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”

“A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

—Best revival of a play

“The Cripple of Inishmaan”

“The Glass Menagerie”

“A Raisin in the Sun”

“Twelfth Night”

—Best revival of a musical

“Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

“Les Miserables”


—Best book of a musical

“Aladdin” by Chad Beguelin

“Beautiful — The Carole King Musical” by Douglas McGrath

“Bullets Over Broadway” by Woody Allen

“A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder” by Robert L. Freedman

—Best original score

“Aladdin”: Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Howard Ashman, Tim Rice and Chad Beguelin

“The Bridges of Madison County”: Music and lyrics by Jason Robert Brown

“A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”: Music by Steven Lutvak; Lyrics by Robert L. Freedman and Steven Lutvak

“If/Then”: Music by Tom Kitt; Lyrics by Brian Yorkey

—Best performance by an actor in a leading role in a play

Samuel Barnett, “Twelfth Night”

Bryan Cranston, “All The Way”

Chris O’Dowd, “Of Mice and Men”

Mark Rylance, “Richard III”

Tony Shalhoub, “Act One”

—Best performance by an actress in a leading role in a play

Tyne Daly, “Mothers and Sons”

LaTanya Richardson Jackson, “A Raisin in the Sun”

Cherry Jones, “The Glass Menagerie”

Audra McDonald, “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill

Estelle Parsons, “The Velocity of Autumn”

—Best performance by an actor in a leading role in a musical

Neil Patrick Harris, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Ramin Karimloo, “Les Miserables”

Andy Karl, “Rocky”

Jefferson Mays, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Bryce Pinkham, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

—Best performance by an actress in a leading role in a musical

Mary Bridget Davies, “A Night with Janis Joplin”

Sutton Foster, “Violet”

Idina Menzel, “If/Then”

Jessie Mueller, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”

Kelli O’Hara, “The Bridges of Madison County”

—Best performance by an actor in a featured role in a play

Reed Birney, “Casa Valentina”

Paul Chahidi, “Twelfth Night”

Stephen Fry, “Twelfth Night”

Mark Rylance, “Twelfth Night”

Brian J. Smith, “The Glass Menagerie”

—Best performance by an actress in a featured role in a play

Sarah Greene, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”

Celia Keenan-Bolger, “The Glass Menagerie”

Sophie Okonedo, “A Raisin in the Sun”

Anika Noni Rose, “A Raisin in the Sun”

Mare Winningham, “Casa Valentina”

—Best performance by an actor in a featured role in a musical

Danny Burstein, “Cabaret”

Nick Cordero, “Bullets Over Broadway”

Joshua Henry, “Violet”

James Monroe Iglehart, “Aladdin”

Jarrod Spector, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”

—Best performance by an actress in a featured role in a musical

Linda Emond, “Cabaret”

Lena Hall, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Anika Larsen, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”

Adriane Lenox, “After Midnight”

Lauren Worsham, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

—Best scenic design of a play

Beowulf Boritt, “Act One”

Bob Crowley, “The Glass Menagerie”

Es Devlin, “Machinal”

Christopher Oram, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”

—Best scenic design of a musical

Christopher Barreca, “Rocky”

Julian Crouch, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Alexander Dodge, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

Santo Loquasto, “Bullets Over Broadway”

—Best costume design of a play

Jane Greenwood, “Act One”

Michael Krass, “Machinal”

Rita Ryack, “Casa Valentina”

Jenny Tiramani, “Twelfth Night”

—Best costume design of a musical

Linda Cho, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

William Ivey Long, “Bullets Over Broadway”

Arianne Phillips, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Isabel Toledo, “After Midnight”

—Best lighting design of a play

Paule Constable, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”

Jane Cox, “Machinal”

Natasha Katz, “The Glass Menagerie”

Japhy Weideman, “Of Mice and Men”

—Best lighting design of a musical

Kevin Adams, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Christopher Akerlind, “Rocky”

Howell Binkley, “After Midnight”

Donald Holder, “The Bridges of Madison County”

—Best sound design of a play

Alex Baranowski, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”

Steve Canyon Kennedy, “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill”

Dan Moses Schreier, “Act One”

Matt Tierney, “Machinal”

—Best sound design of a musical

Peter Hylenski, “After Midnight”

Tim O’Heir, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Mick Potter, “Les Miserables”

Brian Ronan, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”

—Best direction of a play

Tim Carroll, “Twelfth Night”

Michael Grandage, “The Cripple of Inishmaan”

Kenny Leon, “A Raisin in the Sun”

John Tiffany, “The Glass Menagerie”

—Best direction of a musical

Warren Carlyle, “After Midnight”

Michael Mayer, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Leigh Silverman, “Violet”

Darko Tresnjak, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

—Best choreography

Warren Carlyle, “After Midnight”

Steven Hoggett and Kelly Devine, “Rocky”

Casey Nicholaw, “Aladdin”

Susan Stroman, “Bullets Over Broadway”

—Best orchestrations

Doug Besterman, “Bullets Over Broadway”

Jason Robert Brown, “The Bridges of Madison County”

Steve Sidwell, “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”

Jonathan Tunick, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder”

—Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater

Jane Greenwood

—Regional Theatre Award

Signature Theatre, New York, N.Y.

—Isabelle Stevenson Award

Rosie O’Donnell

—Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre

Joseph P. Benincasa

Joan Marcus

Charlotte Wilcox


©2014 Chicago Tribune

Visit the Chicago Tribune at

Distributed by MCT Information Services