Swedish power and psychedelic popsters the Soundtrack of Our Lives return after a four year absence with an ascendant surprise: Communion, a 24-tune double album that enfolds all that is good about rock. Communion has a conceptual theme: each song focuses on one part of a 24-hour day; side one is the daytime disc, while side two is the nighttime record.

But compositions are independent of each other, and that’s what makes Communion a musical banquet worth splurging on. Tracks twist from heavy guitar to layered ’60s trappings and ’70s new wave to supple pop.

Psych-soaked opener “Babel On” sets Communion in motion, followed by art-pop piece “Universal Stalker” and an ebullient rendition of Nick Drake’s elegant “Fly.” Disc two is slightly more meditative but no less compelling, highlighted by cuts such as fuzzy pop-drone gem “Everything Beautiful Must Die” and sing-a-long closer “The Passover.”

Grade: B

Communion is currently available.