With Teeth, Nine Inch Nails’ first studio disc in six years, is the band’s first rock album.

NIN frontman Trent Reznor trades in familiar industrial and synth sounds for 10 pounding, epic tracks that are enveloped in a building intro and a slumbering two-song outro.

The album starts with “All the Love in the World,” a slow, building ballad that culminates in Reznor’s frantic screaming which asks, “Why do you get all the love in the world?”

Former Nirvana and Queens of the Stone Age member Dave Grohl pulls drumming duty on the disc, making his presence most noticeable on “You Know What You Are,” “The Collector” and the unrelenting drive of “Getting Smaller.”

Other album highlights include the effort’s first single “The Hand That Feeds” and “Beside You in Time.”

Never one to stray from experimentation, Reznor uses “Only” to showcase his disco-funk beats and spoken-word lyrics. Songs like “Every Day is Exactly the Same” and “The Line Begins to Blur” are quintessential NIN, pairing electronica with a sharp rock ’n’ roll edge.

Fans should feel at home with the tracks on this album because they’re nothing new for the band. Simply put, With Teeth bridges the gap between the ambience of The Fragile and the punch-you-in-the-mouth rawness of The Downward Spiral to create, once again, another face of Nine Inch Nails.

Grade: A

With Teeth is currently available.